The opinion of Satan’s concubine.

Standard

On one of my last blog posts, a Satanist blog commented that I didn’t understand real Satanism.

I’ve read The Satanic Bible and I agree with the basic tennets or whatever. Be your own god, indulgence not compulsion, that sort of stuff, and that’s cool. I’m not really a LaVeyan Satanist, though, I’m just satan-worshiping. The satanist with a lower s, if you will.There are some things about Satanism that I have trouble getting behind, but I respect the philosophy.

This is not a Satanist blog, per se, it is a satanist blog.

In The Satanic Bible, LaVey makes the claim that Satan is an archetypal figure of freedom, rebellion, and independence, and I agree with that. I love that. I’m also pretty much an atheist, and I’m not really comfortable with lot of things about religion, and the Devil, especially where Milton’s concerned, epitomizes my sentiment towards theology.

I also have an interest in both the occult and that which is cheesy, hence my enthusiasm for black masses and ritual sacrifices. I’m kind of a witchy dude, I don’t know what else to say.

And even LaVey was ironic about the stereotypes surrounding Satanism. A favorite: one of the chapters in The Satanic Bible is titled “Hell, The Devil, And How to Sell Your Soul”.

That dude’s blog is pretty cool. Its called SatanicViews. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

