Still the coolest satanic band.

Standard

Okay, okay, okay. I finally have time to write this review.

I was wary when I went to see Ghost in Denver a couple of weeks ago. I had listened to it beforehand, and their new album, Meliora, is anything but what the title suggests. Their previous albums, Opus Eponymous and Infestissumam, in my opinion, are much better.

I was disappointed by the new album mostly because of the lyrical content. Their previous studio albums were rife with double innuendo and the risque, not to mention just plain sex. Like, listen to the way Papa E (I’ll get to his appearance in a second) sings. Its sexy and commanding and mature. By way of example, some of the instrumentals enable opportunities to wrap an arm around a lover.

A less important facet of my wariness was the band’s new look. At the prior concert I went to, Papa E was papal, in the style of those inversed black masses.

black mass

Basically a Ghost show.

He contained himself, which made the song’s lyrics that more uncannily unholy. Because of Papa E III’s dancing, I was afraid the  The new masks of the Nameless Ghouls were kind of corny. They weren’t spoOoOoOooky enough. People expect spook.

I am not a fan of Papa E out of his gown. He looks good in it, he should keep it on.

I write all of this merely for the sake of my natural tendency towards criticism and bemoaning. In actuality, none of this matters.

It doesn’t matter, because Ghost needs to be dynamic. Their schtick is based in theater, and theater lives on variance.Despite my complaints, Ghost still does a great show. Its difficult to leave a Ghost show disappointed and they cannot always do the black mass thing. It is important to take the papal gown off of Papa E, or else every show will be the same.I mean, two women in nun costumes went on stage and administered unholy communion to the first row, c’mon.

A band only produces good work with diversity, or else it drops redundancies, not albums. Good job on not getting pickled in repetition, dudes.

5 thoughts on “Still the coolest satanic band.

Leave a Reply

